Home :: Reviews

Reviews

Here are some of the reviews on Amazon.com for this machine. They will be helpful in number of ways for you to use this machine to your best performance. Please visit Amazon for more of them.

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars A godsend--the best possible!, October 13, 2007
By Brandon B. Avery (Los Angeles, CA)
By Brandon B. Avery (Los Angeles, CA)
All prior repair kits I've used just made the CD much worse (such as the Memorex OptiFix, which RUINS CDs instead of fixing them) or marginally better (Disk Doctor). The Disk Doctor at least repaired the CD correctly but made it look butchered; good luck selling one, it would look like you took sandpaper to it.

TThis one, however, both removes all reasonable scratches (if it's too deep, sorry, there's nothing in existence that will remove it) AND makes the CD look brand new. It is a long process, not a 20 second "stick it in and forget about it" procedure, but the end results are incredible. You have to work for it, maybe half an hour on a horribly scratchy disk, but this thing will work miracles!!!
     


 
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars Works like a charm!!, January 21, 2007
By Aaron Langlois (Lindenhurst, IL USA)
All I can say is, I'll never have to worry again if I get a DVD and it freezes or skips! I recently bought my wife a 25 DVD set, and halfway through the first disc it froze. I started looking up repair machines and almost went with a another one due to the price of this machine, but after reading the Amazon reviews I picked this one. After receiving the machine, I followed the instructions (with a slight amount of difficulty, as they were a tad confusing), and about 5 minutes later it was as good as new!! It seems I'll never have to return defective DVD's again!! Well worth the cost!!
     


 
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars The best machine on the market!, January 4, 2007
By CyberCityMall (USA)
The instructions are vague and hard to understand because this machine is from China. After using the machine for a few months, I got the hang of it and use it a little differently than the instructions suggest. I get fantastic results by using the white pads 90% of the time. The yellow pads are only used if the discs is completely thrashed. The liquid polish is the best stuff to use. I also use the creams with the white pads if the disc is very scratchy. I sell DVD/CD's for a living and this machine has greatly improved my sales and prices. A must have for all sellers of DVD/CD/Games. It will pay for itself!
     


 
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible product!, February 2, 2008
By G. Corey (Madison, WI USA)
I was skeptical... how can this product be so pricey (relative to other products) and yet have 18 out of 18 5-star ratings? I had to try it. I've had a chance to try it on some lightly and some moderately scratched discs, and every one of them looks like NEW! This is an AMAZING product. The 2nd disc I tried was a moderately scratched disc, and I was upset when it ended up with a discolored "ring" in the middle of the disc... but it played OK... so I didn't worry about it too much. After doing a couple more discs, I realized that you REALLY have to pay close attention to the directions. USE the spray water bottle. Reapply the buffing and polishing fluid. Get distilled water for the water bottle (or soft water in a pinch) and keep the disc moist during scratch-filling sessions. I'm going to try it on some of my friend's uber-scratched kids games (he has 5 boys, from 2 years to 15... and they have truly GOUGED some of their games -- so I'm going to put the machine to the ultimate test. I'll update this after... but honestly, this product works fantastically on discs that are marginal... they look (and play) like NEW! Oh, and that ring in the middle of the 2nd disc I did? I went back to the beginning on it, this time making sure to use the water liberally... and lightly buffed it a couple of times and polished it 3-4 times... and then it too looked like new. So for those couple of guys who said it made some discs worse? They probably didn't read the directions closely enough. One way you can tell you need more water is when it doesn't want to easily start up when you close the lid.

Oh yeah, one more thought -- if the disc is real dirty or might have grit on it, CLEAN it or rinse it off under running water to get the grit off before you start working on it.
     


 
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD/CD repair system, February 8, 2007
By Fallon G. Halder "Falcon" (Washington, DC USA)
I was skeptical when I first purchased this repair machine as I considered it expensive, but I bought it for business purposes. I had previously bought a cheap DVD repair device that actually made my DVDs worse. I usually watch DVDs on my PC and unfortunately my PC's DVD drive is very sensitive to scratches. I used the Simotech repair unit on the worst of my DVDs. After performing the scratch repair and polishing, which was very easy and quick - the DVD not only worked perfectly - the surface looked brand new. I tested on several other DVDs and again it brought them back to like new condition.
     


 
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Spendy but worth every penny, August 3, 2007
By Hays Clark "_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_" (Seattle, WA)
I think that if I were to ever recommend any product of CD repair this is the one. It's by far the best and most powerful tool I have on my CD fixing arsenal. It's basically a powerful CD buffering system. I think as a consumer this is the best tool you can get without getting in to the very expensive $600+ professional repair system.

I have had very good luck with this machine and what you spend in cash you will save yourself in time. It only takes 10-30 seconds to fix a CD. It's nice and easy and clean.
     


 
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, June 3, 2008
By Shana Strahle
I can't even begin to think of how to express my thoughts about this product. As a family of 5, with three children ages 3, 5, and 9, we have collected over 100's of DVDs and CDs. Many of them are scratched, some looked so beyond repair. I came across this product via amazon and read reviews. It arrived today, and immediately I looked for the most scratched up DVD, Jimmy Neutron. We have not been able to watch this movie since 2005. It rarely got past the Menu screen, and if it did, it skipped all over the place.

After running DVD thru the machine (3-step process), the DVD looked brand new and played crystal clear throughout. No skipping, nothing. I am now on a mission to do the rest of our scratched DVD section. This machine will pay for itself, and I don't think I'll ever have to worry about another scratched DVD again. Big smile, BIG, HUGE!
 


 
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars The best DVD repair machine on the retail market, April 10, 2008
By Addicted Online Shopper (CA United States)
WOW! This machine really works. I have 3 kids, ages 2,6, & 9, and they fingerprint and scratch up my DVDs, CDs, and games like crazy. The instructions that came with the machine were not as clear, but after a few trials and error, I finally got my discs scratch free and looking new. The machine comes with a decent amount of pads, and I was able to get more use out of the pads than suggested for usage. I was able to use the finishing/polishing pad for at least 30+ discs, when the instructions said usage was only for 6 discs. Deep scratched disc takes a little time, but with some patience and persistence, they came out. Now my collection is scratch free. I had tried other repair machines, and they end up making the disc worse. This is the best value for the money if you have a large collection of discs. No other machine compares on the retail market.
     


 
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty, Five-Star Reviews Can't Be Wrong!, February 26, 2008
By Pentagirl (Arlington, VA USA)
After reading the 20, 5-Star reviews already on here (at one point I thought they must all be fake... I've never read such unanimously glowing reviews!), I went ahead and ordered this machine after the Digital Innovations' SkipDR AUTOMAX Disc Repair System RUINED, instead of repaired, two of my barely-scratched DVDs!

Yes, I was put off by the Simo machine's price. Yes, the written instructions are long and poorly-written. But the product arrived, well-packed, via FedEx within a week; and I took the others advice on here and watched the video on YouTube. I did exactly what the demonstrator in the video does, and both my DVDs were saved -- the machine has already "paid me back."

My only complaint is that there isn't enough of the white polishing discs, and it seems expensive to order more. There also wasn't a polishing cloth included in my shipment -- I think that's intentional because the instructions say a facial tissue can also be used. But I was afraid to use a facial tissue.

Thank you to those of you who mentioned the demonstration video on YouTube.
     


 
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars This machine works great if you are patient., April 7, 2007
By K. Millington (Chicago)
I borrow library cds, most are so scratched up the don't play through with out skipping or worse. I had a clam shell machine, the type with the two rotating disks and went through three of them in two months. I was curious about this machine but it was 4 times the cost of the clam shell. After the 3rd failure of the clam shell type I decided to bite the bullet and buy this machine. I am not disappointed. This machine does have a learning curve of about an hour or two to get the knack of using it. With the library cds it takes at least 3 10 sec repair cycles of the red,yellow and polish. I use different pairs of pads seperately, 1 pair of yellow with red cream, then 1 pair of yellow with the yellow cream, then I wash all the cream off the disk with dawn dish detergent, dry the disk and finish the polishing of the disks with the white pads. This process makes the disks like new and is used because of the damage to the library disks. Although this process takes some time and patience your disks should never get this bad but if they do this machine will make them sparkle.

 
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but read all the Amazon reviews..., June 7, 2009
By DJ Arnoldo (Manassas, VA United States)
Just resurfaced 12 horribly mangled and unplayable CDs using the Simotech machine. The outcome was outstanding - all 12 CDs are playable and sound great! BUT... it took 8 hours and it was a little tricky; here is what I learned about resurfacing heavily damaged CDs.

1) Spacers: More than optional, these spacers are essential for generating the proper pressure to cut the required amount of plastic off the old CD surface. Starting with the yellow pads and red cream, add one clear spacer, give it 3-4 spins. If you still see deep scratches, add a green spacer, give it 3-4 more spins, etc. Keep increasing the spacer thickness and spinning until you get the desired polish. If you are doing multiple CDs (I did a batch of 12), do all the CDs with each spacer thickness. For the worst CDs (like mine), you will end up using all 4 spacers. That's OK, just leave all the spacers in as you work your way through the creams (red, yellow, and white).

With badly scratched CDs and using multiple spacers to generate the needed cutting pressure, you will have to avoid two problems. First, the motor will stall if you hit the start button with the lid shut. You will have to start the motor with the lid open, then click the lid shut once the motor spins up. Second, if you leave the lid shut between spins, the pressure will bond the grit to the CD surface leaving a dot pattern on the CD where the pads stopped. This not only can ruin the finish, it carries coarse grit to the next polishing stage and can prevent you from getting a good polish. To prevent this, count the number of seconds for each spin (about 12), and open the lid the last second before the disk stops spinning. You definitely need to let the machine cool down for at least 20 seconds between spins, or the machine will overheat and shut off. Its also better for the CD.

2) Pad changing: For really bad CDs, you will need to remove a lot of plastic, and this clogs the pads. I had to change the yellow pads every four CDs on the first pass. Once I got past the red cream, the pads lasted for all 12 CDs. ALWAYS CHANGE THE PADS WHEN YOU CHANGE CREAMS.

3) Cleaning: The polishing creams have a waxy base to lubricate the disc during polishing. I filled a spray bottle with half-diluted vegetable cleaning spray which leaves zero residue (available at supermarkets or Whole Foods). Worked great! Lay out a roll of paper towels to put your CDs on while you are cleaning them. This will blot off the water between polishing steps.

4) Sanding Blocks: WARNING - DO NOT USE THE RED OR BLACK SANDING BLOCKS. I tried to use these on deep scratches, and instead of a bunch of deep scratches, I ended up with the entire CD full of deep scratches! I found that it is much better to leave a few of the deepest scratches than be anal and try to remove every last scratch. Even the deep scratches will be lightened substantially with the normal polishing process, and will not affect the ability to read the disk. If you use the sanding block, you will not be able to polish out the resulting scratches (I tried 20 spins and could not get the sanding block scratches out!)

5) Cream: Dont use as much cream as they tell you to. Put a tiny dab on each pad each time you change the CD. Even a 1 mm length squeezed from the tube is too much. Just squeeze a tiny bit out of the tube and touch the pad, leaving a little dab. A little goes a long way!

6) Instructions: The instructions that come with the unit are pretty good. However, read and print out the best of these reviews, which I found to offer interesting and helpful tips!

 
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands down, the best machine for the money!, December 24, 2006
By Ninasbargains (Melrose Park, USA)

I had been using several of the handheld crank and motorized units in the past. They never really did a great job and they always end up falling apart. I wanted a high quality unit and the ones I found cost several hundred dollars, which was not in my budget.

A seller friend of mine recommended the Simo system and was always raving about how great it worked. Since it was only $129.00 and looked like the more expensive models, I decided to give it a try. I was totally blown away at the quality of the machine and the results it produced. I took the most damaged and scratchy disc I could find and this little machine made it look like new again! I used to hand crank scratchy discs and sell them as "Resurfaced" because they were always left with swirls and scuffs. This machine will make them look "Like New" again and I can sell them for more money! So it has been paying for itself! I love this machine!
 

 
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses all expectations, August 1, 2008
By Sampson Metz (Derry, NH, USA)
I have a DVD copy of a very rare 1930 film. I recently discovered that the DVD was so dirty or scratched that it was unplayable. Locally available DVD cleaner/repairer products didn't work. I ordered the ZDAG 101 thru Amazon. The ZDAG company shipped the product the same day they received the order, and had it securely wrapped and cushioned for shipment.

After reading the instructions and viewing a Youtube demonstration of how to operate the machine, I set the gear up, inserted my damaged DVD, and followed the company's instructions. In the space of 10 minutes, I had the disc repaired, cleaned, polished, and ready for inspection. It performed like a brand new disk from start to finish.

I am now about to order enough spare cleaning material from DZAG to last me and my DVD & CD collections indefinitely. Taiwan and DZAG have produced a dream machine. I would not hesitate to purchase anything bearing the DZAG label.

 
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, January 10, 2008
By DisgruntledFellow (Portland, OR)
Some stuff to know:
1. There's a demo/instructional video from the manufacturer (I guess) on youtube ... search for "Simo DVD" and, at least currently, it's the first thing to pop up. You'll get a sense of how the thing operates from it, which will make the printed instructions make more sense when you see 'em.
2. You can get supplies directly from the seller on this item (Amazon doesn't offer them). The "kit" has extra pads and polishing compounds.
3. It *works*. I've never used a disk repair machine before, so I can't speak to how well it works compared to the lower-priced competition, but I was very impressed with the quality of this thing.
4. The time it takes varies with the depth of the scratches. You may get away with a couple of minutes on a simple job, ten or fifteen for a disk you've got to sand a bit before it goes into the machine (I know, you're wincing now when you hear "sand a disk" :-) I had to do this on the first disk I tried (I used an especially hard-used one that my four year old had gotten hold of) ... it's a last resort, but it worked.

I very nearly made the money back on the machine first day; your mileage may vary (if you only have three disks to repair, find a friend with one of these and buy him/her a beer).
 

 
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars A total disc saver, February 21, 2007
By E. Somers "www.stupiddayjob.com" (Marietta, GA USA)
As a collector of CDs, I pick up discs in many varrying conditions. I recently decided
it was time for me to take it to the next level and invest in something that would bring life back to the CDs that appeared to have used the nine lives they had been given. I have to say, I couldn't be happier. Discs that looked unplayable have been given another chance at life, and those with stubbarn marks and scuffs shine like they just came out of the plastic. Extra pads and liquids were worth the nominal investment for me also.

The learning curve is very small on this machine. It is very easy to pick up when the pads are dirty and to switch them out (even though I try and make them go longer). While I'm sure I still have a good bit to learn, I feel as if I'm a pro and can make my collection look flawless as it was meant to be. I am very pleased with the Simo disc cleaner, and for the money, I'm sure you will be too.

 
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you've got the time., June 12, 2009
By Park (Texas)
There are plenty of good reviews giving excellent advice on this machine. Read through them to get a good idea of how the machine works and to supplement the written instructions, which are horrible. Yes, it can restore moderately damaged CDs to nearly new condition. It's a must if you buy a lot of CDs from garage sales and thrift stores. But be prepared to spend some time reconditioning. For a lightly scratched disk, a quick spin with the polishing cream will probably do the trick. Any deeper scratch will require stepping through the different pads/polishing compounds. You'll also need to clean the CD between each spin, I use warm water, mild dish soap and a microfiber cloth, to see how much more work the CD will need. It can be a painstaking process if you're a perfectionist.

The machine does what it says it will do, so why did I give only 4 stars? First, the instructions. Simotech should spend a little $$$ for a native English speaker to rewrite their documentation. You should have a few throw away CDs on hand to practice with before you try to recondition that expensive boxed set. Second, the process. Reconditioning a CD from really bad to like new requires changing the cream/pads several times. The pads have self-stick adhesive to adhere them to the polishing wheels. This means that you have to stick and un-peel the pads several times during the process. It's a pain. You can try to do a batch of CDs at a time, but that's a limited solution because sometimes you only realize that you need to use a coarser polish again, after you've moved on to a finer one and still see lingering scratches. The coarser polishing creams can leave a hazy swirl on the disk the obscures the scratches you're trying to get rid of. The way around this is to buy more polishing wheels. You'd keep the pads adhered to the wheels and change out the wheels, which are friction fit onto the roller bearings. The wheels are relatively inexpensive, but it would have been nice if Simotech had included a couple of sets.

Besides those two complaints, this machine is great. It's well worth the investment if you need to recondition a lot of damaged CD, DVDs or games.

 
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works., August 13, 2007
By Gary W. Buchman
I have a lot of DVDs. Many of them are boxsets of movies or tv shows that are expensive to replace if one disc in the set gets scratched and causes problems. I used to use eye glasses cleaner solution to clean DVDs which worked in some cases but not all. I also tried one of the cheap cleaners from Wal-Mart which only seemed to make things worse. There are some DVDs I have that have not worked for 4 years that I planned on replacing until I saw this machine. It looked expensive but the reviews were so positive I had to see it for myself.

It is simply a great machine. On all of the DVDs I have tried it on they have come out working where they had once had problems. I recommend getting the set with the extra pads because I have already gone through most of the white and blue pads that have come with it already. If you have a lot of DVDs that tend to get damaged when you or friends use them I highly recommend this item.

 

 
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars It just paid for itself..... and after 6 months I am upgrading it to 5 stars now!, January 10, 2009
By J. Ulery
I purchased this to try to repair the numerous games and movies that have been scratched/smudged by the kids over the years and no longer worked. None of the cheaper machines I tried were successful, and I was about to give up and start replacing some of the favorites until I stumbled onto this item and the great reviews. Yes, it is pricey, but I decided to give it a shot, and return it if it didnt work any better than all the other machines I have tried. The item shipped promptly and was well packaged on arrival. The shortened instructions are a little confusing and vague, but I took other reviewers' advice and watched the tutorial on You Tube. I also read through the longer instructions included in the bottom of the box. It is a little time-consuming to change the pads, run it through multiple times etc., but in the long run, it is well worth the effort. I only had one disc get a little hot, and this was the 5th one. I followed the (longer) instructions about what to do when this occurs. It not only helped, but the disc was fully repaired. I was able to restore 5 trashed games to like new condition. At @$50 a game, the machine just paid for itself! So far, I am extremely happy. Four stars for now until I see how the machine holds up over time, otherwise it would be 5 stars. I will come back and report on how it holds up. UPDATE: After 6 months, numerous discs saved, and no problems, Im giving this little baby 5 stars!!! It was a great investment.

 
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars CD/DVD REPAIR EXTRAORDINARE, February 9, 2008
By James Bouchard "Pilgrim" (Marienville, PA.,USA)
Having a new HD/DVD machine we've learned that it will freeze when it encouters even the smallest of imperfections. We had the same misgivings others mentioned buying this machine sight unseen, yet were swayed by so many glowing reviews. Believe me there are few things that we rate five stars but this machine works like a charm!!! You can take these reviews to heart.
I started with a couple of disks for children that our four year old granddaughter used, that were pretty well unplayable and inexpensive to replace. It restored them to like new condition!!!
The machine is hefty (7#s) and seems to be well made. All in all we would not hesitate to recommend this disk repair machine to a good friend.
     

 
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great machine!, March 16, 2007
By Phillip C. Wellings "philthyfreak73" (texas)
I've only had this machine for a few days. It took me about 1/2 an hour to figure it out. I've cleaned about 10 CD's and repaired about 10 CD's. I also repaired a PS2 game. It works very well. I tried to repair some Badly damaged CD's with mixed results. It restored one to where I could play 7 out of 8 songs. The other one I restored 6 out of 10 songs. These wouldn't play at all before that and were very old and extremely damaged. I love this machine and I plan to go through my whole collection of CD's, DVD's, and video games to clean and fix as much as possible. I have over 1000 all together so I better get to work...Buy this machine, It's Great!!!

 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars A TOP NOTCH Device. Believe all the reviews., May 24, 2009
By Robert A. Catron "Music lover" (Frankfort, KY USA)   
I myself was very skeptical of the reviews. They were all so glowing that I thought surely the makers wrote most of them (but again, the English was just too good :O)

Anyway, this is a GREAT product. I cannot believe that I have been using (and replacing) the terrible little Maxell units that I have been getting at Wal-mart for so many years.

It does restore a CD/DVD back to brand new functioning quality - and near, if not always perfect mirror-like visual quality. It is indispensable to me - a video game reseller. Now, I do not even look at the quality of the games that I purchase to sell - because I know I can fix them.

It does take some work - I normally just have to use the yellow cream a couple of times, then the white polish a couple of times. Sometimes, on minor marks, I simply use the white polish and do not use the yellow/red creams at all!

The only downside is that there is not nearly enough white pads (which has been mentioned elsewhere), but you can order a box of 100 for less than $8 including shipping from the manufacturer's US website (along all other expendable supplies and actual machine replacement parts). The company also replies very very quickly to questions http://www.dvdrepairmachine.com/ I asked about the status of my order and received a fast response, and a couple of simply technical questions - both of which were answered very very quickly.

I immediately ordered a box of 100 white pads ($5.75 + shipping) the day after I received my unit and received them via 1st class mail within 3 days. The next time I order (probably white polish and yellow pads) I am going to order two additional pad holds so I do not have to peel the pads off and on all of the time (I can keep white pads on one set of holds, and yellow on the other, then just switch the holders out).

In conclusion - I am very, very happy with not only the unit but the ease of ordering supplies and the customer service. I think this unit is not only a great device for home consumers, but small businesses as well - any business that buys/sells video games, movies, CDs, etc. Again, not ONLY for the entry price (which is affordable) but the ease of ordering, and the cost of replacement supplies.

Rob Catron

 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Well. Just not perfect., March 3, 2009
By Scott D. Ellingson "Poco242" (MN USA)   
I have had this product for about 6 monts now. I rent DVD's from Nexflix, and needless to say, they usually come very beat up and many times unplayable. I bought this machine to avoid constantly sending discs back, and to repair my kids video game discs.
After using it as long as I have, I am very happy with it. I think it was well worth the cost. I have not had one disc I could not repair. If used correctly it will polish the discs to an allmost new mirror finish. I usually do not go that far, because it is not needed. I reuse the pads for 5 discs or more with no problems. I have never needed to use the corse compund. Usually just the polish, or maybe the medium compound on some of the real bad discs.
One thing I do not like about it, (why I said, not perfect) is the motor is a little weak. It will not allways start out with the lid closed. I got around this by leaving the lid unlatched until the disc is spinning, then closing it tight. As far as the discs getting hot, it can happen if you are not careful. Use some common sence. If the disc is getting warm, stop for a few minutes.

 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, June 27, 2008
By J. Monroe (Virginia Beach, VA USA)
I have a large DVD collection with many titles that are no longer available. Early in my collecting I used 300+ carousel players which deeply scratched some of the discs. I used "Disk Doctor" which made the DVD's playable but left circular scratches on the disc. This machine repairs them to like new condition. Each DVD I have repaired is fully playable and not a single sign of any scratch after the repair. As I continue to collect, I have began to notice that more disc are scratched brand new out of the package. A lot of stores will only exchange leaving you hoping that the next one is not defective (and often it is). For just a few pennies I can repair them, not have the hassle of continually returning them, and have the programing I want to complete my collection.
This machine is worth every dollar it cost!!!

 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY, are repair machine that works!!!, October 19, 2007
By HainesRanch
This has been wonderful. Having 4 children, our DVD and CD's take a beating... I can't tell you how many I have thrown away before we tried out this GREAT machine! It really does a great job, and saves ME LOTS of money on replacing movies!

After using a cheap hand cranked version, and having the DVD's come out foggy and not working still. I am totally amazed how mirror shinny and great the DVD's look after using the DVD repair machine. br />
II HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't ask for more. It's incredible., October 3, 2007
By B. Allred
I just got mine in the mail yesterday and immediately tried it out on a used Xbox 360 game that I bought last week. It had become unreadable near the end of the game (much to my frustration) due to a significant scratch on the outer perimeter of the disc. I had to use the fine sand paper pads to buff the scratch out because it was so deep. Of course, this left a significant scuff on the disc. I then ran it through a couple of cycles of each cream/polishing solution from most coarse to fine. The result was outstanding! It looks nearly new and had no trouble loading the section of the disc that was previously unreadable. Now all my friends want me to fix their cds for them. I don't know if it will pay for itself but it is so convenient that I don't really care either way. The bottom line is that this is a great machine for a fair price.

 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Let the Price Stop You!, May 8, 2007
By R. Hamacher (DFW, TX USA)
I just got this unit in today and I am blown away!!! It does EVERYTHING the video and description claims. I buy and sell game DVD ROM and I am so impressed with the results I am kicking myself for not getting one sooner. For me it will pay for itself in less than a month. This is a GREAT machine and a steal at this price.

 
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MONEY EVER, December 25, 2006
By Cheap3m "Cheap3m" (CHGOUSA)
I have been using these machines for the last 2 years we own two!the best investment for cheap3m (with over 5,000 feedbacks!) using this machine has improve way up our sales from acceptable to all the way LIKE NEW!$$$$$

 
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome awesome awesome, January 22, 2009
By A. Mandeville "Somanytools" (Connecticut)   
Just finished ripping over 400 cds to our digital collection for use on a Zune 120 GB Video MP3 Player (Black)) and found over half had bad skips scratches ect. Looking at mp3 or worse replacing cd for cd I figured if i could find a machne under 150 I was still saving lots of time, effort and money...enter this little unit. I tried other units includingPhilips Motorized CD/DVD Repair System and a couple of 40 dollar units from a box store. No luck. I found reviews for this unit online and bought through amazon seller. I am really happy. I have had scratches that were really really bad more like grooves and it cleaned them up.

So the low down..the unit includes pads, cleaning fluid, and both lighht and heavy scratch cream, it also includes sanding blocks for both fine medium and heavy scratch removal, and shims for getting a proper fit to the pad from the spinner plate. A basic set of instructions was included but here's what i learned after 400 cds....

Clean them all...the fine finish it gives makes a difference in how quickly the cd is ripped with error correction into you computer.

use the yellow pads and the red tube cream (heavy cream) the yellow is fine for general cleaning but that's it. the small bottle of liquid cream is a great buffing agent for cds that are dirty or to finfish of a newly repaired disk. yellow pars will last for 4 cds if you have heavy work or 30 if your just buffing and finishing. Basically when the surface of the pad is looking caked with cream or you can't see the ridge in the pads surface...change them already...

start with a buff with just a little cream on the pad and I mean a little goes a long way hear. then cycle the unit for one or two long passes....take a look...still scratched try it twice more...if you have lots of little surface scratches then try a shim on the table to put the cd closer to the pad and then cycle twice more...only add cream if you do not see a change in the cd...otherwise just keep spinning...up to 6 passes for light but not gouged cds...if there gouged then keep reading

gouges need some practice and some patience...first off make sure it is a gouge and not a surface material like glue ect...then wet the cd where it needs to be sanded. Use the red pad for most and the black pad only after trying the red and buffing out the area. So use the red pad in small tight circles over the gouge till it looks like it is gone...wipe the area dry...still look gone ..ok then use the heavy cream and a shim on the table and run it through three long passes...let it cool for 10 or 20 seconds.....then 3 more passes...repeat till its buffed...if after a couple of passes the gouge looks like is still there go back and use the black sand pad...and then back to the buff and wait buff and wait.

Fixing takes time...cleaning buffing or regular scratches are quick so just take your time...i do it while i am trolling or reading the news online a couple a day sometimes more...and eventually they got done...the machine works well and except for the cheap plastic top and hold down for the cd table...(which you don't need to use by the way...the cds will sit on the table shims without moving so avoid the on and off nut for the hold down as it will strip out after about 30 cds anyhow.) (the top also had little clip in the back that broke but it still stays on and opens well so i don't care and it took 300 cds before this happened so...)
 

 
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works. , December 26, 2007
By David Munson "dmunson14" (Mid Illinois, United States)
Normally, I would give this 4 Stars because of the poor documentation but I just saved $120 yesterday by repairing a small pile of DVD's.

One of the twins likes his Ghibli DVD's so much he took them out of the package and ground them in the floor. All of them. We also had a pile of DVD's that would not play after a certain point. Another DVD with light scratches totally ruined by the Memorex OptiFix I purchased.

Rather than buying a new Ghibli set, I purchased this. It really works. You may go through the course and fine polishing discs and compounds but that is much cheaper than buying replacement DVD's.

This machine allows us the time to teach proper DVD handling techniques to the boys.

 
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth It!, December 21, 2007
By Alexander Shipley   
The product works as advertised and is, in my opinion, well worth the money. The first CD I fixed went from skipping literally every track to playing through flawlessly. The Cds repaired were pretty heavily damaged with relatively deep and numerous scratches. The machine is simple to use and seems to be well constructed. It only takes a few damaged CDs DvDs or games to equall the cost of the machine so i highly recomend skipping the cheaper repair kits for this product, especially if you loan discs to friends or partake in mail rental services.

 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little machine!, July 31, 2009
By Andrew F (Seattle, WA)
I tried some of the cheap little $20 DVD cleaners, but they never did an adequate job of repairing moderately to heavily scratched DVDs. I own about 500 DVDs and Blu Rays, and many of them have ended up with scratches over the years. This machine does a great job of cleaning and repairing what would be otherwise unplayable DVDs. It also works great on PC softward CDs and DVDs. Of all the DVDs/CDs I put through this machine, there has been only one or two at the most that it couldn't fix. Its a little complex to use with the different pads, creams, etc., but well worth the learning curve!

 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD/CD cleaner, June 26, 2009
By Bozo127 (Roseville CA)
This cleaner works very well, even on disks that have major scratches. Definetly order addition pads and creams since the supply that comes with the machine will not last long if you have a good size library of DVD/CD's to repair or polish. The only real negative about the Zdag 101 is that the instruction sheet is confusing and the supplemental sheet seems to contradict the original instructions. I think when you have a good product it is important to instruct the user on the proper procedures for each operation.
 

 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars Really repairs scratched cd's & dvd's!!, obr> February 20, 2009
By Michael J. Schmidt (Columbus, Ohio)
This machine really does repair scratched DVD's & CD's and will quickly pay for itself. I own hundreds of discs I've bought for $1 or $2 at thrift stores and flea markets - they're cheap but often badly scratched. This device will make them like new again. I usually work in batches, polishing 10 or 15 discs using only the coarse (red) paste, then clean the discs and add new pads and polish all them on medium (yellow) paste. Thoroughly clean your discs when switching from coarse to medium, medium to fine so you won't abrade the disc with a coarser grade of paste when you're shooting for the finer polish. I don't even bother with the finer polishing (blue & white) and they look and work just fine. For bad scratches I like to use a Dremel tool with a small buffing wheel and some polishing compound from the auto shop; their pastes works too. Work very quickly and lightly or you will melt your disc! A few drops of water on the wheel will help keep them cool too, but use a GFCI outlet for electrical safety!

 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful: /div>
5.0 out of 5 stars What a valuable thing., September 11, 2008
By Aaabbbeeee "aabbee" (Silicon Valley)
We are very happy with this little machine. We own two now - one for repairing scratches and one for polishing the dvds. For our small dvd rental biz, it is a life (dvd) saver. For the money is costs for the machine and the supplies, it is a steal.

 
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste your Money On Other repair machines, January 1, 2008
By Vanita Chambers (norwood, ma United States)   
Don't waste your money on other dvd repair machines like I did. This is the best on the market so far. It is costly but it will save you money in the long run by extending the life of your dvds.

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product!!, October 5, 2009
By Khatri (Turlock, CA United States)
 
The product works like a charm! I was able to repair DVDs that were not playable before and now they work just fine. I would recommend this product to anyone who would like to get their DVDs repaired. And if you have kids this is a must have product if you tired of buying replacement dvds.

 
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the $$, September 23, 2009
By jar "Jar" (Waco, TX United States) 
I do not recommend this product. It is complicated and required
multiple steps and supplies. It did not repair the DVDs that
I tried to fix. It did a nice job of cleaning the DVDs, but
the part about repairing scratches didn't help.

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Very goodd, September 13, 2009
By N. Valenzuela "Gamesnear"   
I have a small video game store, I have only one of this kind of machine, ( ideal will be about 3, one for each step) works well all the time, just make sure you follow the instructions, and don't use to much of the cream on any
repair. They will last longer! also let the cd cool down after each long cycle. If you do this, you may not erase all scratches, but your cds or games will work and shine like new. Also if your cd still not work, make sure the paint label on the other side is not scratch. If it is scratch, paint it with a black marker, paint it a few times for a thick coat, you'll see working again!

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!!, May 29, 2009
By Charles Thomas
I bought this machine because I have a 2 and a 3 yr old and other DVD repair products weren't able to remove the scratches they caused. This one works!! Although it is a little pricey, I believe it has already paid for itself. Some tips: work in batches when repairing because of the multiple steps and although it doesn't say to, you should use the cleaning step as the last step to remove any excess wax - don't hand clean! Also, the polishing pads are pretty sticky, I only took off a small piece of the backing, otherwise the polishing pads tear when removing them from the mounting plates.

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!/b>, May 16, 2009
By alb10
This does as advertised. It is expensive but beats the others by a mile.

 


 
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works!, April 12, 2009
By Gwaithmir (Chester, MA)
I buy a lot of second-hand DVD's, so I frequently ran into problems with discs that would "freeze" at some point in the program. I was somewhat put off by this product's price, but was pleased to discover that it was worth every penny. I found that most problem discs, even those with a few scratches, will play properly after a good cleaning. Occasionally, I found it necessary to cycle a disc through the cleaning process twice. I highly recommend this unit for those acquiring a large collection of used DVD's.

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product/Not that hard to use!!, January 2, 2009
By Douglas R. Davis "ShinerRyan" (Shiner, Tx USA)
After reading other reviews on this product I bought it and, WOW, am I happy. For the most part it has worked to refurbish almost every DVD and Video game I have tried it on. It won't work for the deepest scratches but I can only think of 1 disc out of the dozens I've tried that it did not work for. Amazing.

As for how it works. Easy to do. Step 1: use yellow pads and put small amt of red tube cream, then run machine. Repeat up to 6 times. After finished remove excess cream with lint free cloth. Step 2: with same yellow pads use yellow tube cream in same manner up to 3 times. Step 3: switch to white pad and use polishing liquid (1 drop on each pad). Run machine and use up to 3 times. Then use a lint free cloth to clean.

OOnly negatives: It doesn't come with many white pads or much cream. You will have to play with it to figure out how many times to use the pads.

 
5.0 out of 5 stars FInally, a disk repair system that actually works!, December 16, 2008
By Willie Williams (Los Angeles, CA)
I used this system to repair my Mario Kart Wii disk which was horribly scratched and would not load past the intro screen. Now it works like a dream! I use the system a bit differently in that I skip the first cleaning stage (I just use dish soap and a clean cloth). After I ran step 2 and 3 the disk looked almost brand new! Don't waste your time and money on the other systems, I've had every single one and they work for a while but then you either run out of fluids, or the unit starts scratching disks instead of fixing them. This product has a site that you can reorder supplies from, so you can reuse it over and over again.

 
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful: /div>
1.0 out of 5 stars ***NOT FOR PSP UMDs***, May 17, 2009
By J. Ames  
I purchased this machine because the info said it will repair UMD discs as well. I have several PSP UMDs that are in need of repair.

This machine looks like a fine machine, and I will try it on some DVD and CDs that I have, however, IT WILL NOT FIT UMDs. br />
The UMD disc has a smaller diameter hub core, and a metal hub disc with a pinhole center that will not fit the securing hub of this machine. Even if you were able to carefully remove the hub disc, the hub core is too small to fit the machine hub.

Even if you were willing to alter the machine hub, by sanding/grinding it down to fit the disc core, the repair pad would not contact the inner 1/3 of the disc.

Again, probably great for large discs, but definitely not for UMDS.

 
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
3.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your money, July 12, 2008
By nobody "nobody 1" (where ever)
While this unit is slightly better than the $39.00 cd polishers, it lacks power and heats the cd's causing the foil data layer to peal and it just doesn't cut well enough to remove anything other than mild scratches and scuffs. There are other units on the market that cost quite a bit more but for the price I'd expect better. The cutting pads for instance cut unevenly. It needs to be water cooled and use better compound. I'm going to try some compound from an Auto Paint store. Basically this machine is just not worth it.

 
7 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
2.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time and money., August 27, 2008
By Roger Beickel "Amature Musician" (La Grande, OR)
I have purchased and used several disc repair machines. I am a serious movie collector and have over a thousand DVD's in my collection. And the painfull truth is this machine is poorly constructed and it doesn't leave a mirror smooth finish that is necessary for the newer high resolution DVD machines and Blue Ray players. This machine will suffice if you are only using low resolution DVD players because they are not nearly as sensitive as the newer upconverting machines that are being sold today. This machine will also overheat your discs and will likely do more harm to them than good. If you are a serious movie collector and like the beauty of Blue Ray and High Resolution TV Sets, do your self a favor. Don't waste your money on this machine.....Do some reaserch and be willing to spend a fair chunck of money....good repair machines are not cheap, but they are better than wasting money on a poorly made product such as this.